Board of Trustees

SUNY Ulster is governed by a 10-member board of trustees made up of community leaders appointed by the Governor of New York or the Ulster County Legislature to serve the College, as well as a student trustee.

Officers & Members
for the 2023-2024 Academic Year 

  Deborah Briggs Vice Chair portrait   Deborah Briggs 
Appointed: 10/29/2018
Term Expires:6/30/2025
Hometown: Ellenville
County Appointment
generic person shape

Timothy Sweeney 
Vice Chair 
Appointed: 9/2021
Term Expires: June 30, 2027
Hometown: Stone Ridge
County Appointment

  Victoria St. John-Gilligan Secretary BOT 2015-2016

Victoria St. John-Gilligan
First Appointment: 1/01/2010    

Reappointed: 11/30/2016
Term Expires: 6/30/2023
Hometown: Kingston
County appointment

Anna M. Brett

Anna M. Brett
Appointed: 12/1/2012
Reappointment: 9/2018
Term Expires: 6/30/25
Hometown: Kingston
County appointment

  Rev. Gregory Simpson, Ph.D. portrait

Rev. Gregory Simpson, Ph.D.
Appointed: 12/2021
Term Expires:June 30, 2027
Hometown: Hurley
County Appointment


generic person icon


  Jade Meneses

Student Trustee
Jade Meneses
Appointed: 7/1/2023
Term Expires: 6/30/2024
Hometown: Saugerties


College Attorney
William J. Ryan, Jr., Kingston
Trustees Emeriti
Peter L. Berger
Karen Clark Adin
Françoise C. Dunefsky
John H. Dwyer, Sr.
John E. Finch
Rod P. Futerfas
Alan Lomita
Susan M. McConekey
George Rusk, Jr.
David H. Rylance
Gabriel F. Sottile
William L. Spearman
John J. Wadlin
Board of Trustees' Policy Manual





Upcoming Events